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2008 Rules of Golf Quiz

Question |
A caddie shared by players on opposite sides in a four-ball match accidentally moved a
ball belonging to one of the players; there is no penalty.

A) True
B} False
Question 2

What is the penalty in stroke play for moving loose impediments that lie in the same
hazard as your bali?

A) No penalty.

B} One stroke

C) Two strokes

D) Loss of Hole.

Question 3

Objects defining out of bounds are obstructions.
A) True

B) False

Question 4
¥¥hich of the following are acceptable relief options for a ball hit into a lateral water
| . hazard?
A) Proceed under stroke and distance.
B) Drop within two club lengths of the spot at which the original last crossed the margin of the lateral
water hazard = no nearer the hole.
C) Drop a ball behind the hazard, keeping the spot at which the ball last crossed the margin of the
hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball Is dropped.
D) All of the above.

Queastion 5

As the final group of the SCGA Amateur Championship prepared to play the par-three
tenth at Saticoy, Chris asked his fellow competitor, Ray, what club he used on the
previous hole — a par 3 of similar length.

A, Chris incurs a two stroke penalty for asking for advice.

B, Chris incurs a two stroke penalty and Ray will also incur a penalty if he replies with helpful
information.

C. Chris should be disqualified under Rule 33-7.

0. Chris has not breached any Rule by asking Ray this question.

Question &
A player finds his ball in high rough after two minutes of searching, he leaves the area to
get a club and when he returns is unable to find his ball. How long is he allowed to look
for his ball?
A) Three minutes.
B} Five minutes.
C) Three minutes, minus the time it took him to retrieve his club.
. D) He is na longer allovred to look for his ball,
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Question 7

In a four-ball stroke play, Melanie holes out for a 4. Emily, Melanie's partner, who was
lying 3 and had marked and lifted her ball, forgot she had a handicap stroke. She did not
replace her ball, or hole out and picked up her ball marker. On the way to the next teeing
ground, Emily remembered her handicap stroke, returned to the green, replaced her ball
where it previously lay and holed out for a net 3. Was this the correct procedure?

A) Tes, since Emily had not played from the next teeing ground.

B) Mo, because this might hold up play.

C) Mo, because they had left the green they must use Melanie's 4 and disregard Emily’ 3,

D) None of the above answers are correct

Question 8

Milke's ball lies on the fringe of the putting green on a direct line to the hole with Jeff's ball
which is 30 yards from the green. May Jeff require Mike to lift his ball on the grounds that
the ball interferes with his play?

A) No, Mike and Jeff are not on the green and so not entitled to this relief.

B) Yes, and Jeff is also entitled to clean his ball while doing so.

C) No, instead Jeff should continue to play his ball until it is out of the way of Mike's line of play.

D) Yes, but Jeff must make sure that he does not clean his ball in the process,

Question ¢

A half-eaten pear is directly in front of a ball in a bunker and there is no pear tree in the
vicinity af the bunker. In the circumstances, is the pear an obstruction rather than a loose
impediment, in which case the player can remove it without penalty? v
A) No, the pear is a leose impediment simply because it is the bunker.

B} No, the pear is a loose impediment because to be an obstruction the pear would have to fully
impede on the swing of the player.

C) No, the pear is a natural object and when it becomes detached from a tree it is a loose impediment,
irrespective of the location of a pear tree or being half eaten,

Question 10

In stroke play, during the first round of a 36-hole event, Kevin incorrectly substitutes a
ball on a putting green, but the Committee advises him that there is no penalty. He
completes his round and returns his score card. During play of the second round, the
Committee adds two penalty stroles to Kevin's first round score. What is the ruling?

A) The Committee should reinstate its initial decision,

B) The Committee should disqualify Kevin for an incorrect score card,

C} The Committee has ruled inappropriately.

D) Rule 33-7 allows the Committee to make such a decision and so the penalty strokes are permitted.
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Question | |

Bob and Katie are to play a four-ball match against Doug and Teri and schedule a time to
play. When Doug and Teri arrive at the tee to play, only Katie is waiting to play. Doug
believes that because Bob is late both Bob and Katie are disgualified and so his side wins
the match. Teri believes that only Bob is disqualified and Katie is allowed to represent her
side and play against Teri and Doug. Katie believes that neither her or Bob are
disqualified as she is able to represent her side alone and Bob is allowed to join the match
later, at a conclusion of a hole, Who is correct?

A) Doug.

B) Teri,

C) Katie.

O} No one is correct.

Question |12

Jennie and Phil, in stroke-play both hit their ball into heavy rough. Upon reaching the
rough they find two balls lying side by side. Both balls are the same brand, model and
carry the same identification number. Neither player put a identification mark an their
ball as suggested in Rule 12-2. How are they to proceed?

A) They should draw a lot to decide who plays which ball.

B) They should both play either of the balls within five minutes of the start of the search for their balls.
C) They both should drop a ball ne nearer the hole from where their drives landed and play under the
penalty of one stroke.

D) They must both play a ball under penalty of stroke and distance, as both balls are lost.

Question |3

In an |18 hole Stableford competition, a player omitted two holes of the round and
returned a score for 16 holes; he should be disqualified.

A) True

B) False

Question 14

Any small object, such as a coin or a tee, used to mark an area in which a ball can be
dropped is not equipment of the player.

A) True

B) False

Question |5

A player's ball is embedded in a fairway. He lifts the ball, cleans it and drops it in the
fairway as near as possible to where it lay. The ball rolls inte and comes to rest ina
bunker. What is the ruling?

A) He has proceeded correctly and must play the ball as it lies.

B) He must redrop the ball without penalty.

C) He must place the ball as near as possible to where it lay.

D) Mone of the above are correct.
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Question 16

A player starts his round with fourteen clubs, breales his putter in anger on the 1Bth
green, and, as the match was all square, replaces it at the start of the 19th hole. In a
separate stroke play event at another course, a player starts with fourteen clubs, breaks
his putter in anger on the |Bth green and replaces it at the start of the |9th hole for a
hole-by-hole play-off. In each of these separate situations, the players are putting on the
green of the |2th hole, when other players question their procedures, What is the ruling?
A) Both of the players incur a penalty.

B) The playar in match play incurs no penalty but the player in stroke play does.

C) The player in stroke play incurs no penalty but the player in match play does.

D) Meither of the players incur a penalcy,

Question 17

Which of the following actions are not permissible when a player's ball lies in a hazard?
A} Leaning on a rake while waiting to play out of a bunker.

B) Grounding one’s club on a sprinkler head directly behind the ball,

C) Lightly taking a stance for a practice swing at a spet in the bunker away from where the ball lies.
D) All of these actions are permissible,

Question |8

Matt began his round with 13 of his typical golf clubs. In addition he was also carrying his
young daughter's 17" driver that they used at the driving range the night before, After six
holes, a rules official spotted the club in Matt's golf bag. How should the official proceed?
A) As long as Matt doesn't make a stroke with the club there is no penalty.

B) Matt incurs a total of two penalty strokes for carrying this club, j
C) Matt incurs a total of four penalty strokes for carrying this club. -/
D) Matt should be disqualified.

Question 1%

Jeremy consistently and intentionally talks on his cell phone while his fellow competitors
are teeing off, he also talles, moves, makes unnecessary noise and shows a blatant
disregard for other players. He repeatedly eauses damage to the course every time he
plays by not repairing divots and slamming his clubs into the ground when angered by his
golf game. How is the committee entitled to act in relation to Jeremy's actions?

A) They can prohibit Jeremy from play for a limited time on the course.

B) They can prohibit Jeremy from play for a limited time in competition,

) They can disqualify |eremy If he is acting in this way in during a competition.

D) All of the above.

Question 20

In four-ball match play, a player practiced putting after he and his partner holed out, but
before the opponents have completed play; the player is penalized.

Al True

B) False
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2008 Rules of Golf Quiz — Answers

[Tl E | Decision 30/1
2 | C |Rule 13-4and Rule 23-1
3 | B | Definition of "Obstructions” and "Out of Bounds"
| 4 | D [Rule 26-1 Tl |
5 | D [Decision 8-1/6
& | A | Decision 2712
' 7 | A | Decision 3-2/3
8 | D | Decision 22/2 oy
9 | C | Decision 23/3
' 10| D | Decision 34-3/] |
1T | € [Rule 30-3a =
| 12 | D | Rule 27-1 c. and Decision 27/10
13| B | Decision 32-112 -
14 A | Definition of “Equipment”
I5| B | Rule 20-2c ey
16 | C | Rule 2-3, Rule 4-4a, and Decision 4-3/12
I7 | D | Decision 13-4/0.5 and Rule 13-4 (note)
- I8 | C | Rule 4-1a and Appendix Il I-c
19| D | Section I of the Rules “Etiquette” and Decision 33-7/8
(20| B | Decision 7-2/1 B




